Qwen Image Edit Plus: Complete Specifications, Pricing, API Access, and Use Cases (2026)
What Is Qwen Image Edit Plus?
Qwen Image Edit Plus is an instruction-driven image editing model launched by Alibaba Cloud in October 2025. It supports multi-image inputs, multi-image outputs, and configurable resolutions. As of July 2026, Gate.AI’s output pricing is $0.0287 per image.
The model belongs to the Qwen Image Edit series, not the text-first Qwen large language models. It edits source images based on natural-language instructions and returns the processed images. Common instructions include adding or removing objects, adjusting poses, replacing visual text, changing backgrounds, migrating styles, or fusing visual information from multiple reference images.
Alibaba Cloud’s official documentation lists qwen-image-edit-plus as a supported Qwen Image Edit model and states that the current stable version matches the qwen-image-edit-plus-2025-10-30 snapshot feature-for-feature. The official files document multi-image input/output, natural-language image editing, PNG output, configurable dimensions, and the ability to generate up to 6 images within supported service flows.
Users typically evaluate the suitability of Qwen Image Edit Plus when they need API-based image modifications, reference-image compositing, visual text replacement, adaptation for product scenarios, or multiple edited versions generated in a single request.
Core Specs and Pricing for Qwen Image Edit Plus
| Spec | Verified values |
|---|---|
| Provider | Alibaba Cloud / Qwen (as of July 2026) |
| Model series | Qwen Image Edit (as of July 2026) |
| Model type | Instruction-driven image editing model (as of July 2026) |
| Release date | October 2025; current stable version corresponds to the 2025-10-30 snapshot (as of July 2026) |
| Context window | Not applicable—this is an image editing model, so there is no text token context window (as of July 2026) |
| Input pricing | The model list does not show a separate Gate.AI price for input images (as of July 2026) |
| Cached input pricing | Gate.AI list not明确 (as of July 2026) |
| Output pricing | $0.0287 per image generated via Gate.AI (as of July 2026) |
| Billing unit | Charged per output image (as of July 2026) |
| Modality support | Image and text-instruction inputs; image outputs (as of July 2026) |
| Supported input types | Source image files and natural-language editing prompts; both the model list and official docs indicate support for multi-image inputs (as of July 2026) |
| Supported output types | Edited image outputs; Alibaba Cloud official docs support PNG output (as of July 2026) |
| Multiple outputs | Supported; Gate.AI image endpoints support n=1~10, and provider limits may be lower (as of July 2026) |
| Custom resolution | Supported; specific dimensions depend on routing and upstream model configuration (as of July 2026) |
| Gate.AI access | Get via Gate.AI image edit API (as of July 2026) |
| Gate.AI model ID | qwen/qwen-image-edit-plus (as of July 2026) |
| Gate.AI base URL | /openai/v1 (as of July 2026) |
| Gate.AI endpoint | POST /images/edits (as of July 2026) |
| Authentication | Authorization: Bearer (as of July 2026) |
| Request format | multipart/form-data (as of July 2026) |
| Response format | Synchronous JSON response, including image results and billing info (as of July 2026) |
| Provider model ID | qwen-image-edit-plus (as of July 2026) |
| Provider snapshot | qwen-image-edit-plus-2025-10-30 (as of July 2026) |
| Availability | Gate.AI and supported Alibaba Cloud Model Studio regions (as of July 2026) |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not a traditional LLM-style knowledge cutoff (as of July 2026) |
| Rate limits | Not confirmed for the specific account and platform limits (as of July 2026) |
| Fine-tuning support | Not confirmed whether the Plus hosted service supports fine-tuning (as of July 2026) |
| Streaming support | Gate.AI image editing interface is synchronous (as of July 2026) |
| Batch API support | Not confirmed whether this model supports batch API via Gate.AI (as of July 2026) |
| Tool or function calling | Not applicable to the recorded image edit interface (as of July 2026) |
| Structured output or JSON mode | API returns structured JSON; LLM-style JSON generation is not applicable (as of July 2026) |
| License or usage restrictions | Subject to Gate.AI and Alibaba Cloud related terms (as of July 2026) |
Gate.AI categorizes its image-to-image interface as an OpenAI-compatible endpoint with base path /openai/v1. Requests upload images via multipart/form-data, including the model ID, the edit prompt, and optional controls (such as the number of outputs, image size, and response format). A successful request returns results synchronously—no task polling is required.
Gate.AI’s pricing may not match Alibaba Cloud’s direct provider pricing exactly. The team should estimate costs based on the current platform fee schedule, the number of requested outputs, retry counts, and any additional variants generated during review.
Main Advantages of Qwen Image Edit Plus in Production
Multi-Image Reference Workflows
This model supports multiple input images, helping users combine products with new scenarios. For example, you can use one image as the main subject reference, another as a style reference, or preserve specific visual elements from multiple sources.
Multi-reference prompts can introduce ambiguity when there are multiple subjects, lighting conditions, viewpoints, or styles. In production systems, clearly label the reference images in the prompt and verify that the target visual sources are applied correctly.
Natural-Language Object Editing
Qwen Image Edit Plus can add, remove, reposition, or modify objects based on text instructions. This reduces the need to manually mask areas for every routine edit.
This capability works for catalog cleanup, concept design, product staging, social media assets, and creative prototypes. The model does not guarantee precise geometric placement, so you still need to validate the key layout manually.
Visual Text Replacement
The Qwen Image series emphasizes rendering and editing text within images. Qwen Image Edit Plus can edit graphics that contain visible text, such as signage, labels, poster mockups, and packaging simulations.
Typography is one of the hardest parts in generative image work. Small text, long sentences, special fonts, and strict brand layouts may produce inconsistencies like misspellings, spacing differences, or altered character shapes.
Generate Multiple Variants in One Request
Gate.AI’s image edit endpoint supports an optional parameter n, letting you request multiple results in a single call. Multiple outputs are useful when a team needs several creative candidate options. Gate.AI states that multiple generated images are billed per image.
In automated workflows, configure this feature carefully. Requesting 4 outputs can produce roughly 4× the image cost of a single output, depending on the platform’s billing rules.
Configurable Image Dimensions
Qwen’s official documentation supports custom image sizes. Current reference guidance says the width/height range is 512 to 2048 pixels. Output format is PNG, and it supports outputting 1 to 6 images.
Gate.AI’s image edit endpoint provides a size field, but the exact accepted dimensions depend on the model routing. Before deploying, validate that the selected size matches what the model supports.
Which Modalities Does Qwen Image Edit Plus Support?
| Modality | Supported? | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Text instruction input | Yes | Describe what to edit |
| Single-image input | Yes | Upload via the Gate.AI image edit endpoint |
| Multi-image input | Yes | Noted on both the Gate.AI list and Alibaba Cloud docs |
| Image output | Yes | Returns the edited image result |
| Multi-image output | Yes | Gate.AI supports the n parameter; upstream limits may differ |
| Configurable resolution | Yes | Gate.AI supports size; official docs specify the range |
| URL response | Yes | Gate.AI can return short-lived image URLs |
| Base64 response | Endpoint option | Gate.AI supports either url or b64_json, depending on the upstream model |
| Audio input | No docs support | Not part of the image edit interface |
| Video input | No docs support | Video workflows require a video edit model |
| General text output | No | Image results may include JSON metadata |
Gate.AI indicates that data[].url returns a short-lived pre-signed URL. Applications should download or save results promptly rather than referencing the temporary URL as a permanent asset. Platform docs also state that stored objects remain valid for 30 days.
If image generation is your core use case, you can refer to the Qwen Image 2.0 series. When evaluating across providers, you can also include GPT Image 2, but compare editing accuracy, input support, latency, and total cost—not just the model name.
What Are the Limitations of Qwen Image Edit Plus?
Qwen Image Edit Plus does not guarantee pixel-level preservation of unedited areas. Even if the instruction only asks to change part of the content, the face, logo, product geometry, lighting, textures, colors, and typography may shift.
Multi-image prompts increase ambiguity. The model may mix visual attributes from the wrong references, omit the target subject, or fail to preserve identity consistently across all variants.
Repeated edits amplify flaws. When you edit a previous result multiple times, textures, proportions, sharpness, and composition can gradually drift. Preserving the original source image and integrating instructions can help mitigate this.
Custom sizes and multiple outputs affect latency and cost. Processing time depends on image dimensions, the number of reference images uploaded, the number of output requests, platform load, and upstream availability. The model does not promise a consistent latency.
Temporary output URLs require operational handling. Gate.AI returns synchronous image results, but URL results are not permanently stored. Applications should download successful outputs, verify file types, store them in controlled infrastructure, and record related request metadata.
These are limitations of general generative AI. Unless the provider states otherwise, editing images may include factual, representational, compliance, or authenticity errors. High-risk materials such as legal evidence, medical imaging, identity documents, and regulated advertising require professional human review and authorization.
Which Scenarios Is Qwen Image Edit Plus Best Suited For?
| Use case | Why Qwen Image Edit Plus fits | Important limitations |
|---|---|---|
| Product image variants | You can modify scenes, backgrounds, objects, and presentation styles | Product shapes, labels, and colors may shift |
| Marketing asset adaptation | Supports natural-language edits and multi-variant generation | Typography and brand consistency still need human review |
| E-commerce image cleanup | Can remove distractions or reset product placement | Does not guarantee perfect preservation |
| Multi-reference compositing | Can fuse visual information from multiple images | References may be mixed incorrectly |
| Localized mockups | Can replace visible text and adjust graphic appearance | Spelling and layout need manual validation |
| Role concept iteration | Can change outfits, poses, scenes, or visual styles | Identity consistency may be unstable |
| Social media variants | Multi-output and configurable sizes support creative testing | Higher n values increase per-image costs |
| Design prototypes | Rapidly explore materials, colors, objects, and composition | Output may not meet engineering-grade precision specs |
This model suits workflows that require fast visual iteration rather than pixel-level deterministic edits. If you need precise masking, typography, measurements, or asset preservation, traditional graphic software or manual design is usually more appropriate.
How Does Qwen Image Edit Plus Compare to Qwen Image Edit Max and GPT Image 2?
| Comparison item | Qwen Image Edit Plus | Qwen Image Edit Max | GPT Image 2 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main positioning | Balanced Qwen instruction-based image editing | A higher-end Qwen image editor | OpenAI’s image generation and editing series | Choose based on workflow and provider needs |
| Multi-image workflow | Supported | Designed for advanced Qwen editing workflows | See OpenAI and Gate.AI model docs | Suitable for multi-reference needs |
| Multiple outputs | Supported | Depends on model and endpoint | Depends on model and endpoint | Good for generating variants |
| Resolution control | Supported | Current Qwen edit series support | Control via the active image API | Validate sizes before deployment |
| Gate.AI model ID | qwen/qwen-image-edit-plus | Use the current list as reference | Use the current list as reference | Model ID is provider/platform-specific |
| Gate.AI price | $0.0287/image (as of July 2026) | See the current Qwen Image Edit Max資料 | See the current Gate.AI list | Compare end-to-end workflow cost |
| Positioning | Balanced performance and single-image cost | For higher requirements | Independent provider series and API behavior | Test representative production assets |
| Context window | Not a text LLM metric | Not a text LLM metric | Not a text LLM metric | Compare number of images, size, accuracy, latency, and price |
There is no universally best model. Qwen Image Edit Plus fits balanced Qwen editing needs with multi-image support and transparent per-image billing. Qwen Image Edit Max is better for demanding Qwen editing scenarios. GPT Image 2 fits teams that already use OpenAI’s image workflow.
To evaluate effectively, test all models using the same source images and prompts. Metrics to compare include subject preservation, instruction adherence, visual text accuracy, usable output count, latency, failure rate, and cost per final asset.
How to Access Qwen Image Edit Plus via Gate.AI
Gate.AI provides an OpenAI-compatible image edit API. The base URL is below:
https://api.gate.ai/openai/v1
Gate.AI model ID for Qwen Image Edit Plus:
qwen/qwen-image-edit-plus
When editing images, send a synchronous POST request to:
https://api.gate.ai/openai/v1/images/edits
Requests must use multipart/form-data and Bearer token authentication. Required fields are model, image, and prompt. Optional fields include n, size, mask, and response_format. Gate.AI returns image results and billing details, including the URL results in data[].url and the actual billed amount model_extend.cost (if available).
Before running the example, store your Gate.AI API key as an environment variable:
export GATEAI_API_KEY="your-real-gate-ai-key"
Do not submit the API key to source control.
Python Example
The following example uploads one source image, requests two edited outputs, prints billing information, and downloads the returned URL for each image.
import osfrom pathlib import Pathfrom typing import Anyimport requestsAPI_URL = "https://api.gate.ai/openai/v1/images/edits"MODEL_ID = "qwen/qwen-image-edit-plus"INPUT_IMAGE = Path("input.png")OUTPUT_DIRECTORY = Path("edited_results")def require_api_key() -> str:api_key = os.getenv("GATEAI_API_KEY")if not api_key:raise RuntimeError("GATEAI_API_KEY is not set. Export the environment variable ""before running this script.")return api_keydef submit_edit(api_key: str) -> dict[str, Any]:if not INPUT_IMAGE.is_file():raise FileNotFoundError(f"Input image not found: {INPUT_IMAGE}")headers = {"Authorization": f"Bearer {api_key}",}form_data = {"model": MODEL_ID,"prompt": ("Keep the main product unchanged, replace the background with ""a clean light-gray studio setting, and add a soft natural shadow."),"n": "2","size": "1024x1024","response_format": "url",}with INPUT_IMAGE.open("rb") as image_file:files = {"image": (INPUT_IMAGE.name,image_file,"image/png",)}response = requests.post(API_URL,headers=headers,data=form_data,files=files,timeout=180,)try:response.raise_for_status()except requests.HTTPError as exc:raise RuntimeError(f"Gate.AI request failed with HTTP {response.status_code}: "f"{response.text}") from excreturn response.json()def download_results(payload: dict[str, Any]) -> None:results = payload.get("data", [])if not results:raise RuntimeError("The response did not contain any image results.")OUTPUT_DIRECTORY.mkdir(parents=True, exist_ok=True)for index, result in enumerate(results, start=1):image_url = result.get("url")if not image_url:print(f"Result {index} did not contain a URL; skipping download.")continueimage_response = requests.get(image_url, timeout=180)image_response.raise_for_status()output_path = OUTPUT_DIRECTORY / f"qwen_edit_{index}.png"output_path.write_bytes(image_response.content)print(f"Saved: {output_path}")def main() -> None:api_key = require_api_key()payload = submit_edit(api_key)cost = payload.get("model_extend", {}).get("cost")provider = payload.get("model_extend", {}).get("provider")print(f"Upstream provider: {provider or 'not reported'}")print(f"Reported request cost: ${cost}" if cost else "Cost not reported")download_results(payload)if __name__ == "__main__":main()
cURL Example
The following request uploads input.png, requests two results, and sets the output size to 1024 × 1024:
curl --fail-with-body \https://api.gate.ai/openai/v1/images/edits \-H "Authorization: Bearer $GATEAI_API_KEY" \-F "model=qwen/qwen-image-edit-plus" \-F "image=@./input.png" \-F "prompt=Keep the main product unchanged, replace the background with a clean light-gray studio setting, and add a soft natural shadow." \-F "n=2" \-F "size=1024x1024" \-F "response_format=url"
A successful URL response has this structure:
{"created": 1781604390,"data": [{"url": "https://temporary-image-url.example/result-0.png"},{"url": "https://temporary-image-url.example/result-1.png"}],"size": "1024x1024","usage": {"width": 1024,"height": 1024,"image_count": 2},"model_extend": {"cost": "0.057400","provider": "qwen","line_items": [{"billing_unit": "image","rate_usd_per_image": "0.028700","image_count": 2}]}}
Optional fields vary by provider and model. Applications should use the data field to get generation results, and model_extend.cost (if present) as the platform billing amount. Gate.AI notes that Qwen image responses can be found in usage for width/height and image count. For per-image billing details, check model_extend.line_items.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Qwen Image Edit Plus have a context window?
Qwen Image Edit Plus does not publish a traditional text token context window. As an image editing model, more relevant constraints include upload size, supported dimensions, number of source images, prompt length, number of outputs, and the model API’s limits.
What is the price of Qwen Image Edit Plus?
Based on Gate.AI’s model card, as of July 2026, Qwen Image Edit Plus charges $0.0287 per image generated. Multiple outputs are billed per image. The actual cost may be returned in the API response field model_extend.cost.
How do I call Qwen Image Edit Plus via Gate.AI?
Send a multipart POST request to https://api.gate.ai/openai/v1/images/edits. Use Gate.AI Bearer Token authentication and include model=qwen/qwen-image-edit-plus, the image file, and the edit prompt. Optional fields include n, size, and response_format.
What scenarios is Qwen Image Edit Plus best for?
It works for product image variants, background replacement, object edits, marketing adaptation, visible text changes, localized mockups, style migration, and multi-reference creative workflows. For precise identity, brand consistency, typography, geometry, or factual presentation, you still need human review.


